Skip to main content

白皮書

迴歸基礎:功率因數是指什麼?爲什麼一定要校正?

今天的商業、工業、零售甚至是家庭環境使用的電子設備越來越多,如個人電腦、顯示器、服務器和複印機等,這些通常都由開關電源 (SMPS) 供電。如果設計不當,就會產生非線性負載,可能將出現的諧波電流或電壓強加給主電網。諧波不僅可損壞該網絡中的線纜及設備,而且還可損壞連接至其上的其它設備。可能出現的問題包括過熱及火災風險、高電壓與循環電流、設備故障和組件故障以及其他可能出現的後果。如果一個非線性負載的功率因數很差,就很容易產生這些諧波。其它負載可能會在不產生諧波的情況下,呈現很差的功率因數。本文着重討論上述問題、致使產生破壞性諧波的情況,以及減少該諧波的實際方法。

造成較差功率因數的兩大原因

按最簡單的方式講,我們可以說一個電氣設備或電子器件的功率因數是它從市電獲得的功率和它實際消耗的功率之比。“理想”器件的功率因數是 1.0,其將消耗它所獲得的所有電能。它將呈現一個全電阻的線性負載:也就是說,一個不受輸入電壓影響而保持恆定的負載,沒有明顯的電感或電容。圖 1 是這種器件將出現的輸入波形。首先,電流波形與電壓處於相同的相位,其次,這兩種波形均爲正弦波形。

Input voltage and current waveforms for a device with PF = 1.0

圖 1:PF = 1.0 的器件的輸入電壓及電流波形

在實踐中,有些器件確實有一致的功率因數,但有些器件卻沒有。器件功率因數差的原因有兩個:要麼它引出的電流與電源電壓異相,要麼它引出電流採用的波形是非正弦的。異相情況即所謂的“位移”功率因數,通常與工業設備內部的電機有關,而非正弦情況即所謂的“失真”功率因數,通常與由開關電源 (SMPS) 驅動的個人電腦、複印機及電池充電器等電子設備有關。我們先簡要地瞭解一下位移功率因數,然後再討論失真情況,這是電子電源系統設計人員更迫切瞭解的問題。然而,瞭解這兩種情況非常重要。例如,一些工程課程只從電機的角度討論功率因數問題,當學生後來遇到 SMPS 所表現出的較差功率因數時,就會感到困惑。

電機和位移功率因數問題

電機產生強大的磁場,其可產生與所用電壓相反的電壓或逆電動勢。這可導致電源電流滯後於所用的電壓。所帶來的異相電流組件無法提供可用的電源,但它增加了設施所需的供電能力和電力成本。在電機之間安裝電容器,可減少相位滯後,提高其功率因數。

SMPS 與失真功率因數問題

位移功率因數負載不會引起諧波及其相關問題,但 SMPS 等失真功率因數負載則會引起這些問題,除非改善了其功率因數。

SMPS 的 AC 前端通常包括一個橋式整流器,其後是一個大型濾波電容器。當線路電壓超過電容的電壓時,該電路纔會使用交流主電路的電流。這將導致交流電流流動間斷,產生如圖 2 所示的非正弦電流波形。

圖 2:功率因數差的 SMPS 所帶來的非正弦電流波形

可使用傅里葉變換(一種數學過程)分析該波形,並將其分解成一組正弦分量,其中包括基本頻率(歐洲爲 50Hz,美國爲 60Hz)和一組基本頻率的奇數倍數,即所謂的諧波。三次諧波爲 150Hz(或 180Hz),五次諧波爲 250Hz(300Hz),等等。圖 3 是電子 SMPS 負載的典型諧波頻譜。基本分量被 SMPS 有效消耗,而諧波是無功的,其會帶來上述問題。基波幅值與所有諧波幅值之和之比,給出了器件的功率因數。

圖 3:電子 SMPS 負載的典型諧波頻譜

國際標準

現有一個國際標準,爲產品主諧波的產生描述和設定可接受的限度。在歐盟內部,其參考標準爲 IEC61000-3-2,涵蓋從 75W 到 600W 的設備功率級。該標準將設備分爲 A、B、C 和 D 四類。D 類包括個人電腦、個人電腦顯示器和電視接收器。

成熟 PFC 解決方案和創新 PFC 解決方案

雖然有無源功率因數解決方案,但一般行業觀點是,有源設計可提供最佳的功率因數改進。這些一般都建立在升壓轉換器技術基礎之上,如圖 4 所示。

圖 4:採用升壓技術的有源功率因數校正電路

圖 5:有源升壓電路的電壓及電流波形

爲此,控制電路使用輸入電壓波形作爲模板。控制電路測量輸入電流,將其與輸入電壓波形進行比較,並調整升壓電壓,以產生相同形狀的輸入電流波形 (5–I)。同時,控制電路還可監控母線電壓並調整升壓,以維持粗略穩壓的 DC 輸出 (5–B)。控制電路的主要功能是提供正弦輸入電流,所以允許 DC 母線電壓略有不同。

使用有源功率因數校正電路使得輸入電流很少出現不連續性,因此從線路中引出的輸入電流的失真和諧波含量較低。然而,Vicor 最近基於其最新動態轉換器架構推出了一款模組化 AC 前端,稱爲自適應單元。

該 AC 前端爲系統設計人員帶來了許多改進功能。具體來說,它可提供 85V 至 264VAC 通用輸入、高效率和高功率密度,還特別考慮到了它是一個完整的解決方案,包括隔離穩壓 DC 輸出以及整流及功率因數校正等。該器件可減少 AC 線路諧波的傳播,改善系統和設施層面的整體電源質量。總諧波失真好於 EN61000-2-3 要求,而高開關頻率和諧振轉換則可簡化外部濾波和 滿足EMI 標準規範。

相關內容

產品概覽: AC 前端

資源

Contact Form

聯絡Vicor

感謝您與我們聯絡。

您將在一個工作日內收到答覆。

Skip to main content

White Paper

Back to basics: What does Power Factor mean and why must we correct it?

Today’s commercial, industrial, retail and even domestic premises are increasingly populated by electronic devices such as PCs, monitors, servers and photocopiers which are usually powered by switched mode power supplies (SMPS). If not properly designed, these can present non-linear loads which impose harmonic currents and possibly voltages onto the mains power network. Harmonics can damage cabling and equipment within this network, as well as other equipment connected to it. Problems include overheating and fire risk, high voltages and circulating currents, equipment malfunctions and component failures, and other possible consequences. A non-linear load is liable to generate these harmonics if it has a poor power factor. Other loads can present poor power factors without creating harmonics. This post looks at these issues, the circumstances that can lead to damaging harmonic generation, and practical approaches to reducing it.

The two causes of poor power factor

At the simplest level, we could say that an electrical or electronic device’s power factor is the ratio of the power that it draws from the mains supply and the power that it actually consumes. An ‘ideal’ device has a power factor of 1.0 and consumes all the power that it draws. It would present a load that is linear and entirely resistive: that is, one that remains constant irrespective of input voltage, and has no significant inductance or capacitance. Figure 1 shows the input waveforms that such a device would exhibit. Firstly, the current waveform is in phase with the voltage, and secondly both waveforms are sinusoidal.

Input voltage and current waveforms for a device with PF = 1.0

Fig 1: Input voltage and current waveforms for a device with PF = 1.0

In practice, some devices do have unity power factors, but many others do not. A device has a poor power factor for one of two reasons; either it draws current out of phase with the supply voltage, or it draws current in a non-sinusoidal waveform. The out of phase case, known as ‘displacement’ power factor, is typically associated with electric motors inside industrial equipment, while the non-sinusoidal case, known as ‘distortion’ power factor, is typically seen with electronic devices such as PCs, copiers and battery chargers driven by switched-mode power supplies (SMPS). We shall look briefly at the displacement power factor before moving on to the distortion case, which is of more immediate concern to electronic power system designers. However it is important to be aware of both cases. For example, some engineering courses discuss the power factor issue only in terms of motors, which causes confusion when their students later encounter poor power factor as exhibited by an SMPS.

Electric motors and displacement power factor problems

Electric motors create powerful magnetic fields which produce a voltage, or back electromotive force, in opposition to the applied voltage. This causes the supply current to lag the applied voltage. The resulting out of phase current component cannot deliver usable power, yet it adds to the facility’s required supply capacity and electricity costs. Fitting capacitors across motors reduces the phase lag and improves their power factor.

SMPS and distortion power factor problems

Whereas displacement power factor loads do not cause harmonics and their associated problems, distortion power factor loads such as SMPS will do so unless their power factor is improved.

An SMPS’s AC front end typically comprises a bridge rectifier followed by a large filter capacitor. This circuit only draws current from the mains when the line voltage exceeds that across the capacitor. This causes current to flow discontinuously, resulting in the non-sinusoidal current waveform shown in Figure 2.

Fig 2: Non-sinusoidal current waveform drawn by SMPS with poor power factor

Fig 2: Non-sinusoidal current waveform drawn by SMPS with poor power factor

It is possible to use Fourier transforms, a mathematical process, to analyze this waveform and break it down into a set of sinusoidal components. These comprise the fundamental frequency – 50Hz in Europe, 60Hz in America – and a set of predominantly odd multiples of the fundamental, known as harmonics. The third harmonic is 150Hz (or 180Hz), the fifth, 250Hz (300Hz) and so on. Figure 3 shows a typical harmonic spectrum for an electronic SMPS load. The fundamental component is usefully consumed by the SMPS, while the harmonics are reactive and create the problems described above. The ratio of the fundamental amplitude to the sum of all the harmonic amplitudes gives the device’s power factor.

Typical harmonic spectrum for an electronic SMPS load

Fig 3: Typical harmonic spectrum for an electronic SMPS load

International standard

An international standard exists to describe and set acceptable limits for a product’s mains harmonics generation. Within the EU, its reference is IEC 61000-3-2, covering equipment power levels from 75W to 600W. The standard assigns equipment into four Classes – A, B, C and D. Class D covers personal computers, personal computer monitors and television receivers.

Established and innovative PFC solutions

Although passive power factor solutions exist, the general industry view is that active designs offer the best power factor improvements. These are typically based on boost converter technology, as in the example shown in Figure 4.

Active power factor correction circuit using voltage boost

Fig. 4: Active power factor correction circuit using voltage boost

Active power factor correction circuit using voltage boost

Fig 5: Voltage and current waveforms for active boost circuit

To do so, the control circuit uses the input voltage waveform as a template. The control circuit measures the input current, compares it to the input voltage waveform, and adjusts the boost voltage to produce an input current waveform of the same shape (5–I). At the same time, the control circuit monitors the bus voltage and adjusts the boost voltage to maintain a coarsely regulated DC output (5–B). Since the primary function of the control circuit is to supply a sinusoidal input current, the DC bus voltage is allowed to vary slightly.

The use of an active power factor correcting circuit results in few discontinuities in the input current and consequently low distortion and harmonic content imposed on the input current drawn from the line. However Vicor has recently introduced a modular AC Front End, based on their new dynamic converter architecture, called Adaptive Cell.

The AC Front End offers a number of improvements for systems designers. In particular, it provides 85V to 264VAC universal input, high efficiency and high power density, especially considering that it is a complete solution including isolated and regulated DC output as well as rectification and power factor correction. The device reduces propagation of AC line harmonics, improving overall power quality at system and facility level. Total Harmonic Distortion exceeds EN61000-2-3 requirements, while high switching frequency and resonant transitions simplify external filtering and EMI standards compliance.

Related content

Product overview: AC Front End

Resources

Contact Form

Get in touch with Vicor

Thank you for contacting us

You should receive a reply to your request within one business day.