Skip to main content
播客

捕獲海洋能

拍打世界各地海岸線的海浪,可產生高達 2 - 300 萬兆瓦的總電能。如果我們能利用這種能量,會是什麽情況呢?

Ocean waves image

Power Systems Design 主持人 Jason Lomberg,與哥倫比亞電力技術公司首席執行官 Reenst Lesemann 的播客

您是否知道,海浪拍打世界各地的海岸線,可產生高達 2 - 300 萬兆瓦的總電能?海洋是取之不盡用之不竭的免費清潔能源。然而,海浪能具有一些獨特的挑戰,很難解決。但現已取得一定的進展。

哥倫比亞電力技術公司 (C-Power) 位於俄勒岡州科瓦利斯市,是波浪能系統的全球領先企業,公司正在通過為海上應用提供經濟高效的可靠發電與存儲解決方案以及資料及通信服務,幫助擴充海洋經濟。C-Power 自主海上電力系統 (AOPS) 漂浮在海上,不僅可捕捉機械波能,而且還可將其轉換為可用的電力,用於廣泛的應用。這種名為 SeaRAY 的 AOPS 設計可通過海浪產生 10W - 1MW 的電能。

哥倫比亞電力技術公司首席執行官 Reenst Lesemann 是 PSDcast 的嘉賓,與電源系統設計主持人 Jason Lomberg 討論了其創新的電源設計以及 SeRAY 將帶來的商機。

  

LOMBERG:歡迎收聽 PSDcast,該節目主持人是電源系統設計的 Jason Lomberg。在可再生能源社區,不怎麽討論海浪能的收集,這是一件令人遺憾的事。雖然它不是很主流的太陽能或風能,但鑒於地球近四分之三都是水,而且據估計,拍打世界各地海岸線的波浪的總功率大約為 2 - 300 萬兆瓦,因此收集海浪能可能是一個尚未開發的巨大商機。

在這裏,哥倫比亞電力技術公司首席執行官 Reenst Lesemann 將討論在轉換海浪自然振蕩中包含的動能和勢能方面的一項新進展。C-Power 與 Vicor 強強聯手,幫助開發了一種名為 SeaRAY 的新版自主海上電力系統。今天,我們將了解有關該最新平臺的更多信息。

Reenst,非常感謝您抽出寶貴的參加我們的節目。在開始之前,您能給我們的聽眾簡單介紹一下 C-Power 嗎?

  

LESEMANN:沒問題。早上好!Jason。謝謝您邀請我!C-Power 是一家海洋能源公司,我們正在提供一系列技術,將海洋能、海浪能和機械能轉換成其它形式的可用能源。這種能源可能是電力,就像在我們今天要講的、SeaRAY 的案例中一樣。它可能是氫或氨,可能用於燃料電池。

  

LOMBERG:您能說明一下 C-Power 的工作重點如何與美國國防部高級研究計劃局 (DARPA) 稱之為波浪能浮標系統的項目聯系在一起嗎?

  

LESEMANN:當然。作為 C-Power 公司,我們最初始於一項俄勒岡州立大學許可的技術。美國俄勒岡州是波浪能研究的學術重心之一。我們最初的使命(也是現在的使命)是為公用事業級系統服務。這些都是兆瓦級的大型設備,與電網連接,可為陸地上的千家萬戶以及企業提供大量能源。

在 DARPA 項目中,我們的實際合作對象是華盛頓大學應用物理實驗室。這是一個美國國防部高級研究計劃局 (DARPA) 想要創建一個戰術有線網路的項目(一個海上光纖網路),顯然,需要為該網路供電。鑒於我們在公用事業級系統上所做的所有艱苦工作,我們能夠迅速設計一款 100W 的小型系統,用來為該海上光纖網路供電。

對於我們而言,這的確就是我們了解這項業務的起點:我們過去一直在功率頻譜的末端,兆瓦級別,而在遙遠的另一端,在瓦特級與千瓦級,還存在巨大的潛在商機。該商機的驅動力是這個提供更多海上自主電子數字系統的需求,這些系統不需要船只和船員便可運行。

  

LOMBERG:咱們退後一步。一般而言,海浪能是一種可再生能源,怎麽沒有全面對其進行采集,請談談您的看法?
  

LESEMANN:我經常說,如果很容易,大家都會去做,這是最快捷的回答方式。其實這是一個很難的問題。任何有船或者在海上待過一段時間的人都知道,你在那裏放的任何東西都會損壞,而且其損壞的時間都是在你不希望它損壞的時候,因為海洋的能量無窮無盡。大海風高浪急、非常洶湧。這需要你在海上使用的任何技術都具有一定的生存性和可靠性。

在你這樣做時,問題是你傾向於過度設計一件設備。如果你過度設計,以確保其安全可靠、不會出問題,這往往會提高成本。一旦你提高了成本並增大了外形尺寸,這是一個很難解決的問題,而且所有這些限製條件都是不同的。

隨後,你您開始思考客戶的運營要求時,比如說,有人想在未來五年間全天候運行一套海上資料收集系統,而且不會有船只訪問,你還有一整套其它要求,因此這就成了一個難度很大的命題。這是一個我們正在破解的密碼,因為我們現在正在將我們的系統商業化,但這很難。

我認為,這是該資源未被充分利的主要原因,而且控製並利用的難度更高。風能和太陽能顯然得到了利用,而且利用得非常好。但是現在出現了波浪能,它的出現是因為它是能量密度很高而且很有吸引力的資源。其能量密度明顯高於來自風或太陽的風能或太陽能。所以很有吸引力,但我們不可能輕而易舉地得到。

  

LOMBERG:聽起來很有道理。請介紹一下 SeaRAY。它是什麽設備?其目標何在?除了您剛才講的,請問為什麽一開始就需要它?
  

LESEMANN:我們從最後一部分開始吧。SeaRAY 是我們稱之為海上自主電力系統的設備,簡稱 AOPS。它是必須的,有幾個原因。如果要在海上做點什麽,就需要大量的人力、資金和能源。如果您想一下就會明白,在海上做任何事情,都需要人力和能源。如果您想打破該鏈條並提供更多的自主服務和海上硬件,想想自動駕駛汽車、在海底執行任務的海底設備或者用於研究、國防或安全工作的無人服務船,所有這些都需要電能。如果您不想把船開到那裏,其成本極高,您就需要有一個電源及資料解決方案。

SeaRAY AOPS,我們喜歡把它看作一個充電站、一個基站和一個資料服務器的組合,所有這些都封裝在一個外殼中。海面上的 SeaRAY 波浪能系統,可捕獲並轉換波浪能,在本實例中將其轉換為電能。我們讓電池充滿電。然後不管該設備是什麽,無論是一款海底無人機、一款資料收集設備,還是一款運轉設備,其工作都得靠電池。然後我們將資料雲與該設備連接起來,這樣就可實現實時、雙向資料傳輸。

假設您在太平洋中部的海底有一套資料收集系統。它在收集資料時,會通過 AOPS 將資料傳輸至雲端。然後您也可以在另一個方向發送資料,給它提供指令、對其進行開關或執行任何可能需要執行的任務。
  
LOMBERG:好的。現在我知道了,這是一種協作。Vicor 對該項目有什麽貢獻?添加 Vicor 組件後,SeaRAY 的設計轉換效率是多少?
  
LESEMANN:我之前沒有提到的一項海浪能的挑戰是它是一種可變的資源。關鍵是我們要利用這種電能,使它以可用的形式存在。Vicor 對該項目的貢獻是創建了一款穩定、寬範圍的 DC-DC 轉換器,該轉換器真的可以在我們大量的設備上使用。我們目前的工作涉及三項技術:瓦特級、千瓦級(也就是 SeaRAY AOPS)和兆瓦級(也就是 StingRAY)。Vicor 系統可直接用於前兩項技術:瓦特級和千瓦級。

然後從效率的角度來看,波浪能系統的效率是一個有點棘手的主題,對吧?因為存在水動力效率,我們捕捉並轉換能源的效率非常高!然後還有機電設備和電力電子轉換以及能量存儲。但總的來說,我們這個系統的目標效率是 80% 左右。Vicor 轉換器,在電壓極低的情況下,其效率在 65% 左右,而隨後在較高電壓下真的會迅速上升到 95% 以上。這是處於 14VDC 和 400VDC 輸入(來自我們的永磁發電機)之間的額定範圍。

  

LOMBERG:非常出色。好的,謝謝 Reenst。我代表 PSD 感謝您在百忙之中抽出寶貴的時間來到這裏。
 

播客最初由 PSDcast 發表。

資源

Contact Form

聯絡Vicor

感謝您與我們聯絡。

您將在一個工作日內收到答覆。

Skip to main content
Podcast

Capturing the power of the ocean

Ocean waves breaking around the world’s coastline can deliver as much as the 2 – 3 million megawatts of total power.  What if we could harness that power?

Ocean waves image

Podcast with Reenst Lesemann, CEO, Columbia Power Technologies and host, Jason Lomberg at Power Systems Design

Do you realize that ocean waves breaking around the world’s coastline can deliver as much as the 2 – 3 million megawatts of total power? The ocean is a constant source of clean, free energy. However, ocean wave power presents some unique challenges that are not easily solved. But progress is being made.

Columbia Power Technologies, Inc. (C-Power), a global leader in wave energy systems based in Corvallis, Oregon, is helping to expand the marine economy by providing reliable, cost-effective energy generation and storage, as well as data and communication services for offshore applications. C-Power autonomous offshore power systems (AOPS) float in the ocean, capturing mechanical wave energy and converting it into usable power for a wide range of applications. The AOPS design, called SeaRAY, can generate 10W – 1MW from ocean waves.

Columbia Power Technologies CEO Reenst Lesemann was a guest on PSDcast with host Jason Lomberg at Power Systems Design to discuss their innovative power design and the opportunity that SeRAY presents.

  

LOMBERG:  Welcome to the PSDcast with your host, Jason Lomberg at Power Systems Design. In the pantheon of renewable energy, ocean wave energy harvesting doesn’t get discussed all that often, and that’s a shame. While it’s not quite as mainstream as solar or wind power, considering that the Earth is nearly three-quarters water, and by one estimate, the total power of waves breaking around the world’s coastlines is around 2 – 3 million megawatts, ocean wave energy harvesting could be one of the great untapped opportunities.

Here to discuss a new development in the process of converting kinetic and potential energy contained in the natural oscillations of ocean waves is Columbia Power Technologies CEO Reenst Lesemann. Along with Vicor, C-Power helped develop a new version of their autonomous offshore power system called SeaRAY. And today, we’re going to learn a little bit more about this new platform.

Reenst, thanks so much for joining us. Before we go any further, can you give our listeners a brief intro to C-Power, please?

  

LESEMANN:  Sure. Good morning, Jason. Thanks for having me on. C-Power is an ocean energy company, which means that we are delivering a host of technologies that convert ocean energy, wave energy, mechanical energy into other usable forms of energy. That might be electricity, as it is in the case of the SeaRAY that we’ll talk about today. It could be hydrogen or ammonia, potentially for fuel cells.

  

LOMBERG:  Can you explain how C-Power’s focus ties into a DARPA project called Wave Energy Buoy Systems?

  

LESEMANN:  Sure. C-Power – we got our original start from a technology licensed from Oregon State University. Oregon State in the US is one of the academic centers of gravity for wave energy research. Our original mission – and we still retain this mission – is for utility-scale systems. These are large, megawatt-scale devices that are connected to the grid, providing wholesale energy for homes and businesses ashore.

The DARPA project – we teamed with, actually, the University of Washington Applied Physics Lab. This was a project that DARPA was looking to create a tactical wired network – a fiber optic network offshore – and needed power, obviously, for that network. Because of all the hard work that we had done on the utility-scale systems, we were able to fairly quickly devise a small, 100-watt system that could be used to power this fiber optic network offshore.

That’s really, for us, where we started to understand that – again, while we had been dwelling at the megawatt-scale end of the power spectrum, that at the far opposite end, at watt scale and at kilowatt scale, that there was potentially a pretty big opportunity. That opportunity really was driven by this need to deliver more autonomous electric digital systems offshore, systems that didn’t require a ship and a crew to run them.

  

LOMBERG:  Let’s take a step back. In a general sense, how underutilized is ocean wave energy harvesting as a renewable energy source, and why do you think that is?

  

LESEMANN:  I always use the phrase that if it was easy, everybody would be doing it – is kind of the quick answer. It is a very hard problem. Anyone that has a boat or spends any time on the ocean knows that whatever you put out there is going to break, and it’s going to break at a time that you don’t want it to break, because the ocean is very energetic. It can be very rough. And that requires or demands a level of survivability and reliability for any technology that you put out in the ocean.

The problem when you do that is the tendency to want to overengineer a piece of equipment. If you overengineer it to make it safe and reliable and make sure nothing’s going to go wrong, that tends to drive up the cost. And once you drive up the cost and the size – it’s a very difficult problem to solve, all of those different constraints.

And then when you start to think about operational requirements for customers – say that someone wants to run a data gathering system offshore 24/7 for the next five years and never have a ship visit it – you have a whole other set of requirements that comes in that makes it really a difficult proposition. It’s a code that we are cracking as we are commercializing our systems now, but it’s difficult.

That, I think, leads to the underutilization of the resource. It’s harder to harness. Wind and solar obviously are there and are doing great. But wave energy is coming, and it’s coming because it’s such an energy-dense and attractive resource. It’s significantly more dense than the wind or the sun – the energy coming from those. So it’s attractive, but we just can’t snap our fingers and get there.

  

LOMBERG:  Sounds about right. Explain SeaRAY. What is it? What’s its goal? And apart from what you’ve already said, why was it necessary in the first place?

  

LESEMANN:  Let’s maybe start with the last part of that. The SeaRAY – it’s what we call an autonomous offshore power system, or AOPS. It’s necessary for a couple reasons. If you want to do anything in the ocean, it is very people- and capital- and carbon-intensive. You always have to take people and power to do anything in the ocean, if you think about it. If you want to break that chain and deliver more autonomous services and hardware offshore – think about autonomous vehicles, sub-sea vehicles doing work underneath the surface of the ocean, or unmanned service vessels that are doing work for research or defense or security – all of these things require power. If you want to avoid having to take that vessel out there, which is very, very expensive, then you need to have a power and a data solution.

The SeaRAY AOPS – we like to think of it as the combination of a charging station and a cell tower and a data server all wrapped up into one package. The SeaRAY wave energy system on the surface – it captures and converts wave energy, converts it into electricity in this instance. We keep a battery charged. And then whatever the asset is, whether it’s a sub-sea vehicle or a piece of data gathering equipment or a piece of operating equipment, it operates off that battery. Then we connect the data cloud to that asset so there’s real-time, bidirectional data transfer.

Say you have a data gathering system on the sea floor in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. As it collects its data, that works its way through the AOPS up to the cloud. Then you can also send data in the other direction to give it instructions or turn it on and off or whatever the need may be.

  

LOMBERG:  OK. Now, I understand this was a collaboration. So what was Vicor’s contribution to the project? And after adding Vicor components, what was SeaRAY’s design conversion efficiency?

  

LESEMANN:  Part of the challenges that I didn’t mention earlier of wave energy is that it is a variable resource. What is critical is that we harness that power so that it is in a usable form. Vicor’s contribution to this project was creating a stable, wide-range DC-to-DC converter that really could be used on a number of our devices. We have really three buckets of technology that we are working on – watt-scale, kilowatt-scale, which is the SeaRAY AOPS, and then megawatt-scale, which is the StingRAY. The Vicor system is directly applicable for those first two buckets, the watt- and the kilowatt-scale bucket.

And then from an efficiency perspective, efficiency with a wave energy system – it’s a bit of a tricky topic, right? Because there’s hydrodynamic efficiency, how well we capture and convert the energy. Then there’s also electromechanical and power electronic conversion and then the energy storage. But overall, our target efficiency for this system is around 80%. The Vicor converter – it ranges from about 65% at the very low end and then really rapidly increases to over 95% at higher voltages. That’s a rated range between 14 volts DC and 400 volts DC input coming from our permanent magnet generator.

  

LOMBERG:  Excellent. Well, thanks, Reenst. On behalf of PSD, I want to thank you for your time.

This podcast was originally published by PSDcast.

Resources

Contact Form

Get in touch with Vicor

Thank you for contacting us

You should receive a reply to your request within one business day.